Berkeley-Haas Open Innovation Awards:

The Garwood Center for Corporate Innovation at the Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley, is proud to announce the Berkeley-Haas Open Innovation Awards to be presented at the 3rd Annual World Open Innovation Conference, December 15-16, 2016 in Barcelona, Spain.


  1. Start-Up Disruption
  2. Business Model Transformation
  3. Distinguished Contribution for Leadership in Open Innovation

The Start-Up Disruption Award

Who should be nominated? Startups that are not yet well known, but have the potential of becoming a big disruptive player in the market by:

a) eliminating competition with an effective value proposition,
b) establishing new markets with a disruptive business model, or
c) redefining or replacing their existing value proposition with a new disruptive one.


The Business Model Transformation Award

Who should be nominated? Established companies that have recently:

a) adopted a new business model to start a new life cycle with new offerings,
b) disrupted themselves to drastically restructure their model offering the same products, or
c) expanded into new markets with open innovation collaboration.


Distinguished Contribution for Leadership in Open Innovation

Who should be nominated?

We need your help to identify nominees for:

Global leaders from industry, government or academia:

a) who have applied the principles of open innovation to transform their organization, or
b) established a new vision or frontier to expand markets that utilize open innovation practices.


Important Dates & Contact Information

  • Submission deadline: Friday, September 30, 2016 Monday October 31, 2016
  • Finalists will be announced in mid-November
  • For questions regarding Berkeley-Haas Open Innovation Awards:
  • Winners will be announced at the 3rd Annual WOIC on Dec. 15-16, 2016 in Barcelona, Spain

Judging process A panel of judges will review the nominations and select one company in each category. Winning companies will receive complimentary passes to attend the conference, where they will be recognized at an Award Ceremony among their peers.


  • Judges participate on a voluntary basis without compensations or incentives
  • Judges will treat the names of all submitters and their information as confidential
  • Judges will proactively decline to evaluate submissions where a potential conflict of interest exists