Industry Awards

5th Annual World Open Innovation Conference


The Garwood Center for Corporate Innovation at the Haas School of Business, University of California, Berkeley, is proud to announce the Industry Awards to be presented at the 5th Annual World Open Innovation Conference, December 13 – 14, 2018 in San Francisco, CA.

The Start-Up Disruption Award

Who should be nominated?

Start-ups that are not yet well known, but have the potential of becoming a big disruptive player in the market by:

a) eliminating competition with an effective value proposition,
b) establishing new markets with a disruptive business model, or
c) redefining or replacing their existing value proposition with a new disruptive one.

The Business Model Transformation Award

Who should be nominated?

Established companies that have recently:

a) adopted a new business model to start a new life cycle with new offerings,
b) disrupted themselves to drastically restructure their model offering the same products, or
c) expanded into new markets with open innovation collaboration.

Distinguished Contribution for Leadership in Open Innovation

Who should be nominated?

We need your help to identify nominees for, Global leaders from industry, government or academia:

a) who have applied the principles of open innovation to transform their organization, or
b) established a new vision or frontier to expand markets that utilize open innovation practices.

Previous Award Recipients


+For questions, email:
+Winners will be announced at the 5th Annual WOIC on
Dec. 13-14, 2018 in San Francisco, CA

Judging Process

A panel of judges will review the nominations and select one company in each category. Winning companies will receive complimentary passes to attend the conference, where they will be recognized at an Award Ceremony among their peers.

+Judges participate on a voluntary basis
+All information is treated confidentially
+Submissions  are declined where a potential conflict of interest exists